It’s been a week.

Today is Monday. It’s been a full week of staying home and being unemployed. What does that consist of, exactly? A lot of sleeping in and watching “Friends” on Netflix, apparently.

There were lists made and plans too… Things like cleaning my car, organizing my room, organizing my crafting stuff, starting up an Etsy business, etc. but none of it is happening yet. As I feared, I’ve let myself slip into the lull of doing nothing. I’m a lazy asshole, apparently.

Actually, to be a little nicer to myself, I have to admit that the first week I was actually really anxious about not doing anything and I felt awful. I felt like I made a huge mistake. I didn’t feel the relief that everyone promised me I’d feel after leaving a stressful job. I was also certain that I’d still have at least one or two more phone calls from work “by accident”… You know, staff that called in sick and forgot, or other families calling me to check details. Nothing. Makes me feel really replaceable…

The nice thing is that near the end of last week, I had things to do and people to see. I met up with Sam on Thursday, went to the gym Friday, and go my hair done. I’ve dyed it a plum purple, though honestly it’s so … muted, it is hard to tell it’s not just light brown/blonde. I’m a little disappointed, but I did choose the cheapest salon (200$ for cut and dye) so I guess I got what I paid for. I don’t hate the color, but I don’t like it… I did want something more vibrant.

Today, I want to think that I did better. I cleaned my car (thoroughly, with the upholstery cleaner) and then cleaned the carpets in the house too. It took a good 3 hours and I’m pretty proud of my work. I was sweating my balls off the whole time… sweat was literally dripping off my nose.

Tomorrow, my plan is to do a few things: gym, cancel AMA, find new health benefits plan, and maybe bake either some macarons or … who knows.

The rest of the week I’m planning to focus on organizing and cleaning up my room, donating anything that I don’t want anymore, and maybe start researching the GMAT. I also have plans to go hang out with Henry on Thursday and then hiking on Friday /w Lily.

Fingers crossed things work out okay. In my mind, I’m considering this week the second week of my vacation, so I’m not really putting the pressure on to jump back into job search yet. Maybe that’s a mistake, but at this point I don’t really care. I wanted this time off and I am going to try my hardest to enjoy it. I need to change my mindset, as J. always says.

  • L
Leave a Reply

