Give it a year.

Apparently with marriage, the first year is the hardest. It’s the year where you find out exactly how to be together. It’s the year that you learn each other’s true quirks and whether or not you can stand it. It’s the roughest year, but if you can survive it together, you can survive anything. At least that’s what I’ve been told. 

I’m watching a movie right now called “Give It A Year” and if you can guess, it’s about a newly wed couple and their trials through the first year. It’s supposed to be a comedy, but after watching it… I can’t quite say it is. 

** SPOILER ** The marriage ends. Each person finds out that they’re interested in someone else and that whatever forces brought them together so strongly at the start, don’t quite exist by the time their first anniversary roles around. The way the movie handles the whole situation is with a comedic tone, but honestly… it reminds me of the ending in The Graduate. They’ve traded one future for another, but you can’t really say which one is going to work out better. You’re always going to be left with doubts. Can’t walk more than one path in life, can we? 

Even though the movie ends with the intent of giving the audience closure, it really doesn’t do that for me. Instead, I just feel like it raises more questions. How do you know your marriage is worth ending? How do you know that this relationship that ended your marriage is going to last? How can you ever know? 

I don’t know why this flimsy little movie makes such an impact on me right now. There must be something going on in my head right now where this plot resonates with me. 

I know I haven’t written anything in a long time and I’ve been meaning to. Life seems to be on fast forward right now and it’s hard to catch enough time (or maybe I’m just too afraid to face it) to write anything down. A lot has changed in the past 6 months. A lot. I don’t even know where to begin with it all… I’ll get to it soon, I promise. If not soon, then eventually – I know how horrible a promise that is, but it’s better than never writing anything down at all. 

 

Leave a Reply

